Fathers at Destination Auto Group

They taught you how to ride a bike, change a flat tire and have loved you unconditionally throughout your rebellious years. Each year, we dedicate a day to recognize all the hard work our fathers do for us. We interviewed two outstanding Dads, Dennis Lee, IT Manager and Gary Harpestad, General Sales Manager at Happy Honda about the joys of fatherhood.

Q: How many children do you have and how old are they?

D. Lee: I have three beautiful kids: Alex (17), Brayden (8), and Kellen (5).

Family of Gary Harpestad

Family of Gary Harpestad

G. Harpestad: I have 4 children: 3 boys aged 4, 12 and 18, and a girl aged 7. Obviously my daughter rules over the boys with an iron fist.

Q: What is the best thing about being a parent?

D. Lee: The best part of being a father is listening to the noise made up of mindless chatter and laughter and seeing the pure joy in the eyes of my children after they accomplish something; it’s the honest affection, big hugs and the occasional “I love you daddy” that I’ll never get bored of hearing.

G. Harpestad: The best thing about being a parent is the unconditional love from my kids; it’s so nice to be greeted after a long day at the office with hugs and “Daddy!” as I walk through the door.

Q: What is your favourite family tradition?

D. Lee: My favourite family tradition is our annual “Dad’s and Tots” camping trip. This one weekend we have together out in the wild is always a blast.

G. Harpestad: Our family doesn’t really have any “traditions” to speak of, as my wife has a very small family and mine are all in South Africa. However, we do set aside “family time” on a regular basis which everyone really looks forward to and enjoys. This could be a family movie night, going to the beach, attending the kids sporting events or just playing some kind of sport together.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Q: How does Destination Auto Group encourage a healthy work-life balance?

D. Lee: John G, Vice President and Chief Financial Officer reminds me that although work is important, it’s not everything, and spending time with my family and kids is what makes me most happy. I’m lucky to learn from and work closely with amazing individuals that lead through their actions.

G. Harpestad: Destination Auto Group encourages a healthy work – life balance by giving me the tools, training and support I need to do my job efficiently and maximize my productivity during the work day. This allows me the time off and the ability to focus on my family while at home.

Destination Auto Group would like to take this opportunity to celebrate all the amazing Dads out there! Happy Father’s Day!

Leave a Reply

